Kolumba
Kolumbastraße 4
D-50667 Köln
tel +49 (0)221 9331930
fax +49 (0)221 93319333

     
October 2016
The Brick Walls Need to Dry
Why Kolumba is under scaffolding

Nope, this is not an initiative for our anniversary year: The scaffolding on Kolumba's west facades results from examinations carried out due to the moisture that has been penetrating the exterior walls for the past several years. Findings show that the brick walls, which are up to 60 cm thick and built without separating joints, absorb more moisture when it rains than they can give off in dry periods. Above all in the Museum's three tower rooms, the damage from this unforeseen effect has been visible for quite some time. Together with specialist engineers and the universities of Aachen and Cologne, Swiss architect Peter Zumthor had developed a brickwork proto-type that would seamlessly span across the historical masonry of the ruins of Kolumba Church, which had been destroyed in the war, by using longish, flat tiles from Denmark (Petersen-Tegl) on broad horizontal support joints. Apparently this monolithic brickwork construction does not sufficiently withstand the Rhenish climate with its considerable amounts of driving rain prone to come from the west. In addition, the moisture sensitivity of the inner clay plaster promotes the formation of small efflorescences. Tests currently being undertaken by institutes of building physics will determine possible solutions. Before the problem can be remedied, the scaffolding on the building will remain there to help the west facades dry.

Street-Art Project
As the Art Museum of the Cologne Archdiocese, we are linking this necessary measure with a promising chance: The scaffolding walls running along the street will be designed by protagonists and artists working in the areas of graffiti, street art, and art in public spaces. This project is being supervised by Leonie Gehrke and Johannes Stahl.


_

Art museum of the
Archdiocese of Cologne

Current events
Architecture
Exhibitions
Awards
Videos
Information
Chapel
Reviews
Museums-History
Publications
Essays
Events
Education

Scaffolding on the building
Loans on travel
We mourn the loss of ...
 

 
www.kolumba.de

KOLUMBA :: Current events :: Scaffolding on the building

October 2016
The Brick Walls Need to Dry
Why Kolumba is under scaffolding

Nope, this is not an initiative for our anniversary year: The scaffolding on Kolumba's west facades results from examinations carried out due to the moisture that has been penetrating the exterior walls for the past several years. Findings show that the brick walls, which are up to 60 cm thick and built without separating joints, absorb more moisture when it rains than they can give off in dry periods. Above all in the Museum's three tower rooms, the damage from this unforeseen effect has been visible for quite some time. Together with specialist engineers and the universities of Aachen and Cologne, Swiss architect Peter Zumthor had developed a brickwork proto-type that would seamlessly span across the historical masonry of the ruins of Kolumba Church, which had been destroyed in the war, by using longish, flat tiles from Denmark (Petersen-Tegl) on broad horizontal support joints. Apparently this monolithic brickwork construction does not sufficiently withstand the Rhenish climate with its considerable amounts of driving rain prone to come from the west. In addition, the moisture sensitivity of the inner clay plaster promotes the formation of small efflorescences. Tests currently being undertaken by institutes of building physics will determine possible solutions. Before the problem can be remedied, the scaffolding on the building will remain there to help the west facades dry.

Street-Art Project
As the Art Museum of the Cologne Archdiocese, we are linking this necessary measure with a promising chance: The scaffolding walls running along the street will be designed by protagonists and artists working in the areas of graffiti, street art, and art in public spaces. This project is being supervised by Leonie Gehrke and Johannes Stahl.

Kolumba
Kolumbastraße 4
D-50667 Köln
tel +49 (0)221 9331930
fax +49 (0)221 93319333

     
Oktober 2016 – Ende offen
Backsteinwände trocknen
Warum Kolumba eingerüstet ist

Nein, es ist keine Aktion im Jubiläumsjahr: Die Einrüstung der Westwände von Kolumba ist ein Ergebnis der seit mehreren Jahren durchgeführten Untersuchungen zur Durchfeuchtung der Außenwände. Befund ist, dass die bis zu 60 cm dicken und ohne Trennfuge gemauerten Backsteinwände bei Regenwetter mehr Feuchtigkeit aufnehmen, als sie in trockenen Perioden abgeben. Vor allem in den drei Turmräumen des Museums ist dieser nicht vorhergesehene Effekt als Schadensbild seit längerem sichtbar. Der Schweizer Architekt Peter Zumthor hatte unter Beteiligung von Fachingenieuren und den Hochschulen in Aachen und Köln einen Mauerwerksprototypen entwickelt, der mit länglich-flachen Ziegeln aus Dänemark (Petersen-Tegl) auf breiten Lagerfugen das historische Ruinenmauerwerk der kriegszerstörten Kolumba-Kirche fugenlos überspannt. Offenbar trotzt die monolithische Mauerwerkskonstruktion dem rheinischen Klima mit seinem hohen Schlagregenanteil aus westlicher Richtung nicht genügend. Die Feuchteempfindlichkeit des inneren Lehmputzes befördert zusätzlich die Bildung kleinerer Ausblühungen. In derzeit laufenden Testreihen bauphysikalischer Institute werden Lösungsmöglichkeiten geprüft. Bevor eine Optimierung in Angriff genommen werden kann, dient die Einrüstung des Gebäudes dazu, die Westwände zu trocknen.

Street-Art Projekt
Als Kunstmuseum des Erzbistums Köln verbinden wir die Notwendigkeit der Maßnahme mit einer aussichtsreichen Chance: Die straßenläufigen Gerüstwände werden im Wechsel mehrerer Monate von Akteuren aus den Bereichen Graffiti, Street Art und Kunst im öffentlichen Raum gestaltet. Das Projekt wird kuratiert von Leonie Gehrke und Johannes Stahl.


_

Kunstmuseum
des Erzbistums Köln

Aktuell
Architektur
Ausstellungen
Auszeichnungen
Filme
Info
Kapelle
Kritiken
Museumsgeschichte
Publikationen
Texte
Veranstaltungen
Vermittlung

Gerüst an der Fassade
Werke auf Reisen
Wir trauern um...
 

 
www.kolumba.de

KOLUMBA :: Aktuell :: Gerüst an der Fassade

Oktober 2016 – Ende offen
Backsteinwände trocknen
Warum Kolumba eingerüstet ist

Nein, es ist keine Aktion im Jubiläumsjahr: Die Einrüstung der Westwände von Kolumba ist ein Ergebnis der seit mehreren Jahren durchgeführten Untersuchungen zur Durchfeuchtung der Außenwände. Befund ist, dass die bis zu 60 cm dicken und ohne Trennfuge gemauerten Backsteinwände bei Regenwetter mehr Feuchtigkeit aufnehmen, als sie in trockenen Perioden abgeben. Vor allem in den drei Turmräumen des Museums ist dieser nicht vorhergesehene Effekt als Schadensbild seit längerem sichtbar. Der Schweizer Architekt Peter Zumthor hatte unter Beteiligung von Fachingenieuren und den Hochschulen in Aachen und Köln einen Mauerwerksprototypen entwickelt, der mit länglich-flachen Ziegeln aus Dänemark (Petersen-Tegl) auf breiten Lagerfugen das historische Ruinenmauerwerk der kriegszerstörten Kolumba-Kirche fugenlos überspannt. Offenbar trotzt die monolithische Mauerwerkskonstruktion dem rheinischen Klima mit seinem hohen Schlagregenanteil aus westlicher Richtung nicht genügend. Die Feuchteempfindlichkeit des inneren Lehmputzes befördert zusätzlich die Bildung kleinerer Ausblühungen. In derzeit laufenden Testreihen bauphysikalischer Institute werden Lösungsmöglichkeiten geprüft. Bevor eine Optimierung in Angriff genommen werden kann, dient die Einrüstung des Gebäudes dazu, die Westwände zu trocknen.

Street-Art Projekt
Als Kunstmuseum des Erzbistums Köln verbinden wir die Notwendigkeit der Maßnahme mit einer aussichtsreichen Chance: Die straßenläufigen Gerüstwände werden im Wechsel mehrerer Monate von Akteuren aus den Bereichen Graffiti, Street Art und Kunst im öffentlichen Raum gestaltet. Das Projekt wird kuratiert von Leonie Gehrke und Johannes Stahl.