Kolumba
Kolumbastraße 4
D-50667 Köln
tel +49 (0)221 9331930
fax +49 (0)221 93319333

     
7 November 2010, 12 to 4 p.m.
»Tehilim & Psalms«
4th Sound Workshop

Jewish-Ashkenazi and Christian-Gregorian Tradition. With Chasan Jalda Rebling (Berlin), Maria Jonas & Ars Choralis Coeln. On the first Sunday in November each year, the Sound Workshop takes place at Kolumba. For the year 2010 I have invited the Chazanit (the female Jewish cantor) Jalda Rebling to come and retrace together with us the lost melodies of Jewish liturgy. In Jewish tradition a distinction has never been made between “sacred” and “profane” music, which means that everyone was familiar with the notation signs and melodies that were needed for singing the psalms. But this knowledge was passed down from mouth to ear, wholly in keeping with medieval tradition. This is why we only find the occasional notation of Jewish music prior to the 16th century. The melodies for the psalms (Tehilim), sayings of the fathers (Mishli), and the Book of Job, have, however, been lost. At present, much research is being done on an international scale to reconstruct this lost music – so far with no real success. But to date, there has not yet been a musical dialogue with other religions and cultures, for example, with Christianity and Gregorian Chants, which takes recourse to the common modal origins. Here is where we would like to embark on our journey of discovery. We have chosen the following psalms, which we will be singing both in Hebrew and in Latin/Gregorian: Psalm 92, Psalm 93, Psalm 95, Psalm 96, Psalm 103, Psalm 114, Psalm 145, and Psalm 150. Might we all, by singing together the Psalms, come a little closer to our religious neighbors? (Maria Jonas)

Chazan Jalda Rebling teaches in the tradition of the Maggidim, itinerant Jewish teachers, who spread Jewish knowledge over the world with songs, legends, and stories. For over 30 years, Jalda Rebling has been known as an internationally renowned and worldly-wise authority on Jewish music. In January 2007, Jalda Rebling was ordained by Rabbi Zalman Schachter-Schalomi, Rabbi Marcia Prager and Chazan Jack Kessler. Since then she has been conducting workshops in Jewish communities and chavurot (friendship groups) in Berlin, Erfurt, Hanover, Tübingen, and Göttingen. She has educated young Jewish social workers at the Erfurt University of Applied Sciences and taught in Amsterdam, Oslo, Trondheim, Stockholm and Lund. In addition, she has taught at the Hebrew Union College in New York, at Elat Chayyim Upstate New York and at the University of Colorado. Together with Aleph Rabbinical Student Lynn Feinberg, she was the first Jewish cantor to hold a Sabbath service in a Norwegian synagogue and read the Torah publicly. The occasion was an international Scandinavian WIZO- Conference in August of 2007. Together with Lynn Feinberg, Cantor Jalda Rebling has been directing a Women’s Shabaton in Oslo since 2006. She was one of the organizers of the Learning Minyans at the Oranienburger Strasse Synagogue in Berlin, led the High Holidays in Berlin at the Oranienburger Strasse Synagogue, in the Egalitarian Minyan in Frankfurt a.M., and at the JKC in Lund, and is a co-founder of Ohel Hachidusch in Berlin, the first Jewish Renewal Community in Germany, which is ALEPH-affiliated. Jalda Rebling has been invited to teach as lecturer at the Hans-Seidel Foundation /Munich and other non-Jewish organizations. She gives lectures in inter-confessional contexts, holds workshops, and takes an active part in inter-confessional discussions. (www.jalda-rebling.com)


_

Art museum of the
Archdiocese of Cologne

Current events
Architecture
Exhibitions
Awards
Videos
Information
Chapel
Reviews
Museums-History
Publications
Events
Education

08/17 Ten Years Kolumba
04/17 Artist Talk
01/17 Series of Concerts
11/16 10th Soundworkshop
06/16 Eric Hattan & Julian Sartorius
06/15 FORSETI feat. subsTANZ
06/15 Cologne Opera
03/15 Animated Cartoon Workshop
11/14 Soundtrack (Achim Lengerer)
11/14 Edith Stein Conference
11/14 Sound Workshop
10/14 Philosophical Discussion
10/14 Albert-Talk
10/14 Seminar on Philosophy
06/14 Visiting Schools III
02/14 Barlach-Haus
11/13 Dance performance
11/13 Sound Workshop
10/13 E-MEX-Ensemble
10/13 4th Albert-Discussion
05/13 Performances
03/13 Horatiu Radulescu
11/12 Sound Workshop
10/12 E-MEX-Ensemble
09/12 Girls' Choir
08/12 Cage: Empty Words
08/12 Hosting Schools II
08/12 Many thanks to all of the...
07/12 Table Talks
06/12 Table Concert
06/12 The chamber of meditation
05/12 episteme
05/12 new talents
04/12 Cage: A Collection of Rocks
03/12 Cage: Number Pieces
03/12 Hans Otte
11/11 Sound Workshop
09/11 Imploding Desk
07/11 Finissage
07/11 Schulen zu Gast I
11/10 Sound Workshop
11/10 Joseph Marioni
06/10 Steffen Krebber
05/10 Holy-Spirit Retable
02/10 Bernhard Leitner
02/10 Ash Wednesday
11/09 Sound Workshop
11/08 Workshop
10/08 Donaueschingen Festival
06/08 Kolumba is singing!
04/07 Art Cologne
08/05 1st view!
12/04 The Pietà from St. Kolumba
11/03 Schauspielhaus Köln
 

 
www.kolumba.de

KOLUMBA :: Events :: 11/10 Sound Workshop

7 November 2010, 12 to 4 p.m.
»Tehilim & Psalms«
4th Sound Workshop

Jewish-Ashkenazi and Christian-Gregorian Tradition. With Chasan Jalda Rebling (Berlin), Maria Jonas & Ars Choralis Coeln. On the first Sunday in November each year, the Sound Workshop takes place at Kolumba. For the year 2010 I have invited the Chazanit (the female Jewish cantor) Jalda Rebling to come and retrace together with us the lost melodies of Jewish liturgy. In Jewish tradition a distinction has never been made between “sacred” and “profane” music, which means that everyone was familiar with the notation signs and melodies that were needed for singing the psalms. But this knowledge was passed down from mouth to ear, wholly in keeping with medieval tradition. This is why we only find the occasional notation of Jewish music prior to the 16th century. The melodies for the psalms (Tehilim), sayings of the fathers (Mishli), and the Book of Job, have, however, been lost. At present, much research is being done on an international scale to reconstruct this lost music – so far with no real success. But to date, there has not yet been a musical dialogue with other religions and cultures, for example, with Christianity and Gregorian Chants, which takes recourse to the common modal origins. Here is where we would like to embark on our journey of discovery. We have chosen the following psalms, which we will be singing both in Hebrew and in Latin/Gregorian: Psalm 92, Psalm 93, Psalm 95, Psalm 96, Psalm 103, Psalm 114, Psalm 145, and Psalm 150. Might we all, by singing together the Psalms, come a little closer to our religious neighbors? (Maria Jonas)

Chazan Jalda Rebling teaches in the tradition of the Maggidim, itinerant Jewish teachers, who spread Jewish knowledge over the world with songs, legends, and stories. For over 30 years, Jalda Rebling has been known as an internationally renowned and worldly-wise authority on Jewish music. In January 2007, Jalda Rebling was ordained by Rabbi Zalman Schachter-Schalomi, Rabbi Marcia Prager and Chazan Jack Kessler. Since then she has been conducting workshops in Jewish communities and chavurot (friendship groups) in Berlin, Erfurt, Hanover, Tübingen, and Göttingen. She has educated young Jewish social workers at the Erfurt University of Applied Sciences and taught in Amsterdam, Oslo, Trondheim, Stockholm and Lund. In addition, she has taught at the Hebrew Union College in New York, at Elat Chayyim Upstate New York and at the University of Colorado. Together with Aleph Rabbinical Student Lynn Feinberg, she was the first Jewish cantor to hold a Sabbath service in a Norwegian synagogue and read the Torah publicly. The occasion was an international Scandinavian WIZO- Conference in August of 2007. Together with Lynn Feinberg, Cantor Jalda Rebling has been directing a Women’s Shabaton in Oslo since 2006. She was one of the organizers of the Learning Minyans at the Oranienburger Strasse Synagogue in Berlin, led the High Holidays in Berlin at the Oranienburger Strasse Synagogue, in the Egalitarian Minyan in Frankfurt a.M., and at the JKC in Lund, and is a co-founder of Ohel Hachidusch in Berlin, the first Jewish Renewal Community in Germany, which is ALEPH-affiliated. Jalda Rebling has been invited to teach as lecturer at the Hans-Seidel Foundation /Munich and other non-Jewish organizations. She gives lectures in inter-confessional contexts, holds workshops, and takes an active part in inter-confessional discussions. (www.jalda-rebling.com)

Kolumba
Kolumbastraße 4
D-50667 Köln
tel +49 (0)221 9331930
fax +49 (0)221 93319333

     
7. November 2010, 12 bis 16 Uhr
»Tehilim & Psalme«
4. Klangwerkstatt

Jüdisch-askenasische und christlich-gregorianische Tradition, mit Chasan Jalta Rebling (Berlin), Maria Jonas & Ars Chorals Coeln. Jeden 1. Novembersonntag im Jahr findet in Kolumba die Klangwerkstatt statt und für das Jahr 2010 habe ich dorthin die Chasanit (jüdische Kantorin) Jalda Rebling eingeladen, um gemeinsam mit ihr den verlorenen Melodien der jüdischen Liturgie nachzuspüren. In der jüdischer Tradition hat es die Trennung von „weltlicher“ und „sakraler“ Musik nie gegeben, d.h. jeder kannte die zum Singen der Psalme notwendigen Schriftzeichen oder Melodien. Doch das Wissen wurde von Mund zu Ohr weitergegeben, ganz in der mittelalterlichen Tradition. Darum gibt es nur vereinzelte Aufzeichnungen jüdischer Musik vor dem 16. Jahrhundert. Die Melodien für die Psalmen (Tehilim), Sprüche der Väter (Mishli) und das Buch Hiob sind dagegen verloren gegangen. International wird derzeit viel geforscht, um diese verlorene Musik zu rekonstruieren – bisher jedoch ohne großen Erfolg. Es gibt aber bislang noch keinen musikalischen Dialog mit anderen Religionen und Kulturen, wie z.B. dem Christentum und der Gregorianik, der auf die gemeinsamen modalen Ursprünge zurückgeht. Hier wollen wir unsere Entdeckungsreise beginnen. Folgende Psalme haben wir ausgesucht, die wir sowohl auf hebräisch als auch lateinisch/gregorianisch singen werden: Psalm 92, Psalm 93, Psalm 95, Psalm 96, Psalm 103, Psalm 114, Psalm 145, Psalm 150. Vielleicht können wir ja mit dem gemeinsamen Singen der Psalmen unseren religiösen Nachbarn ein Stück näher kommen? (Maria Jonas)

Chasan Jalda Rebling lehrt in der Tradition der Maggidim, jüdischer Wander-Lehrer, die mit Liedern, Legenden und Geschichten jüdisches Wissen in die Welt tragen. Seit über 30 Jahren ist Jalda Rebling eine welterfahrene und internatioal renommierte Spezialistin für Jüdische Musik. Jalda Rebling wurde im Januar 2007 von Rabbi Zalman Schachter-Schalomi, Rabbi Marcia Prager und Hazzan Jack Kessler ordiniert. Seitdem gibt sie Workshops in Jüdischen Gemeinden und Chavurot von Berlin, Erfurt, Hannover, Tübingen und Göttingen. Sie erhielt einen Lehrauftrag an der Fachhochschule Erfurt zur Ausbildung jüdischer Sozialarbeiter und lehrte in Amsterdam, Oslo, Trondheim, Stockholm und Lund. Sie lehrte am Hebrew Union College in New York, in Elat Chayyim Upstate New York und an der University of Colorado. Sie war die erste jüdische Kantorin, die gemeinsam mit Aleph Rabbinical Student Lynn Feinberg in einer Norwegischen Synagoge einen Schabbat leitete und öffentlich Tora las. Der Anlaß war eine internationale skandinavische WIZO-Konferenz im August 2007. Gemeinsam mit Lynn Feinberg leitet Kantorin Jalda Rebling seit 2006 einen Womens-Shabaton in Oslo. Sie gehörte zu den Gestalterinnen des Lernenden Minjan in der Synagoge Oranienburger Strasse Berlin, leitete die Hohen Feiertage in Berlin, Synagoge Oranienburger Strasse, beim Egalitären Minjan in Frankfurt/Main und im JKC in Lund und ist Mitbegründerin von Ohel Hachidusch in Berlin, der ersten Jewish Renewal Gemeinde in Deutschland, die ALEPH-affiliated ist. Jalda Rebling erhielt Lehraufträge von der Hans-Seidel-Stiftung/München und anderen nichtjüdischen Organisationen. Sie hält Vorträge im interkonfessionellen Kontext, gibt Workshops und nimmt aktiv am interkonfessionellen Dialog teil. (www.jalda-rebling.com)


_

Kunstmuseum
des Erzbistums Köln

Aktuell
Architektur
Ausstellungen
Auszeichnungen
Filme
Info
Kapelle
Kritiken
Museumsgeschichte
Publikationen
Texte
Veranstaltungen
Vermittlung

08/17 Zehn Jahre Kolumba
07/17 Flötenwerkstatt
06/17 Fronleichnam
06/17 Thomas-Morus-Akademie
06/17 Vortrag Rüdiger Joppien
04/17 Künstlergespräch
03/17 Schulen zu Gast V
03/17 Künstlergespräch
01/17 Konzertreihe
11/16 Klangwerkstatt
11/16 Konzert E-MEX Ensemble
10/16 VII. Albert Gespräch
07/16 Erzählter Vortrag
06/16 Schulen zu Gast IV
06/16 Eric Hattan & Julian Sartorius
06/16 Oper Köln - Liederabend
05/16 new talents
05/16 Harvey Death of Light
12/15 Trickfilmwerkstatt
11/15 Ukulelen-Ensemble
11/15 Lesewerkstatt
11/15 Klangwerkstatt
10/15 E-MEX Ensemble
10/15 Winterreise
10/15 Albert-Gespräch
09/15 European Workshop
09/16 Lesestunde
09/15 Lesung Navid Kermani
08/15 Love & Diversity
07/15 Ensemble Unterwegs
06/15 FORSETI feat. subsTANZ
06/15 Oper Köln zu Gast
03/15 Trickfilmwerkstatt
11/14 Tonspur (Achim Lengerer)
11/14 Edith Stein Tagung
11/14 Klangwerkstatt
10/14 Philosophisches Gespräch
10/14 E-MEX-Ensemble
10/14 Albert-Gespräch
10/14 Philosophisches Seminar
06/14 Schulen zu Gast III
05/14 Ensemble Garage
05/14 Veranstaltungen Intervention
04/14 start:review
04/14 West Coast Soundings
02/14 Barlach-Haus
12/13 Ukulelen-Ensemble
11/13 Tanzperformance
11/13 Klangwerkstatt
10/13 E-MEX-Ensemble
10/13 Albert-Gespräch
07/13 Katrin Zenz
06/13 Frank Gratkowski
06/13 HornroH Duo
05/13 Performances
03/13 Horatiu Radulescu
11/12 Klangwerkstatt
10/12 E-MEX-Ensemble
09/12 Mädchenkantorei
08/12 Cage: Empty Words
08/12 Schulen zu Gast II
08/12 Allen Malern herzlichen...
07/12 Tischgespräche
06/12 Tischkonzert
06/12 Kammer der Andacht
05/12 episteme
05/12 new talents
04/12 Cage: A Collection of Rocks
03/12 Cage: Number Pieces
03/12 Hans Otte
11/11 Klangwerkstatt
10/11 Albert-Gespräch
09/11 Implodierender Schreibtisch
07/11 Finissage
07/11 Schulen zu Gast I
11/10 Klangwerkstatt
11/10 Joseph Marioni
10/10 Albert-Gespräch
06/10 Steffen Krebber
05/10 Heilig-Geist-Retabel
02/10 Bernhard Leitner
02/10 Aschermittwoch
11/09 Klangwerkstatt
09/09 Andor Weininger
11/08 Klangwerkstatt
10/08 Donaueschinger Musiktage
06/08 Kolumba singt!
05/08 Katholikentag
04/08 Verabschiedung JMP
02/08 Alphornbläser
12/07 Deutschlandradio live
04/07 Art Cologne
08/05 1st view!
12/04 Die Pietà aus St. Kolumba
11/03 Schauspielhaus Köln
 

 
www.kolumba.de

KOLUMBA :: Veranstaltungen :: 11/10 Klangwerkstatt

7. November 2010, 12 bis 16 Uhr
»Tehilim & Psalme«
4. Klangwerkstatt

Jüdisch-askenasische und christlich-gregorianische Tradition, mit Chasan Jalta Rebling (Berlin), Maria Jonas & Ars Chorals Coeln. Jeden 1. Novembersonntag im Jahr findet in Kolumba die Klangwerkstatt statt und für das Jahr 2010 habe ich dorthin die Chasanit (jüdische Kantorin) Jalda Rebling eingeladen, um gemeinsam mit ihr den verlorenen Melodien der jüdischen Liturgie nachzuspüren. In der jüdischer Tradition hat es die Trennung von „weltlicher“ und „sakraler“ Musik nie gegeben, d.h. jeder kannte die zum Singen der Psalme notwendigen Schriftzeichen oder Melodien. Doch das Wissen wurde von Mund zu Ohr weitergegeben, ganz in der mittelalterlichen Tradition. Darum gibt es nur vereinzelte Aufzeichnungen jüdischer Musik vor dem 16. Jahrhundert. Die Melodien für die Psalmen (Tehilim), Sprüche der Väter (Mishli) und das Buch Hiob sind dagegen verloren gegangen. International wird derzeit viel geforscht, um diese verlorene Musik zu rekonstruieren – bisher jedoch ohne großen Erfolg. Es gibt aber bislang noch keinen musikalischen Dialog mit anderen Religionen und Kulturen, wie z.B. dem Christentum und der Gregorianik, der auf die gemeinsamen modalen Ursprünge zurückgeht. Hier wollen wir unsere Entdeckungsreise beginnen. Folgende Psalme haben wir ausgesucht, die wir sowohl auf hebräisch als auch lateinisch/gregorianisch singen werden: Psalm 92, Psalm 93, Psalm 95, Psalm 96, Psalm 103, Psalm 114, Psalm 145, Psalm 150. Vielleicht können wir ja mit dem gemeinsamen Singen der Psalmen unseren religiösen Nachbarn ein Stück näher kommen? (Maria Jonas)

Chasan Jalda Rebling lehrt in der Tradition der Maggidim, jüdischer Wander-Lehrer, die mit Liedern, Legenden und Geschichten jüdisches Wissen in die Welt tragen. Seit über 30 Jahren ist Jalda Rebling eine welterfahrene und internatioal renommierte Spezialistin für Jüdische Musik. Jalda Rebling wurde im Januar 2007 von Rabbi Zalman Schachter-Schalomi, Rabbi Marcia Prager und Hazzan Jack Kessler ordiniert. Seitdem gibt sie Workshops in Jüdischen Gemeinden und Chavurot von Berlin, Erfurt, Hannover, Tübingen und Göttingen. Sie erhielt einen Lehrauftrag an der Fachhochschule Erfurt zur Ausbildung jüdischer Sozialarbeiter und lehrte in Amsterdam, Oslo, Trondheim, Stockholm und Lund. Sie lehrte am Hebrew Union College in New York, in Elat Chayyim Upstate New York und an der University of Colorado. Sie war die erste jüdische Kantorin, die gemeinsam mit Aleph Rabbinical Student Lynn Feinberg in einer Norwegischen Synagoge einen Schabbat leitete und öffentlich Tora las. Der Anlaß war eine internationale skandinavische WIZO-Konferenz im August 2007. Gemeinsam mit Lynn Feinberg leitet Kantorin Jalda Rebling seit 2006 einen Womens-Shabaton in Oslo. Sie gehörte zu den Gestalterinnen des Lernenden Minjan in der Synagoge Oranienburger Strasse Berlin, leitete die Hohen Feiertage in Berlin, Synagoge Oranienburger Strasse, beim Egalitären Minjan in Frankfurt/Main und im JKC in Lund und ist Mitbegründerin von Ohel Hachidusch in Berlin, der ersten Jewish Renewal Gemeinde in Deutschland, die ALEPH-affiliated ist. Jalda Rebling erhielt Lehraufträge von der Hans-Seidel-Stiftung/München und anderen nichtjüdischen Organisationen. Sie hält Vorträge im interkonfessionellen Kontext, gibt Workshops und nimmt aktiv am interkonfessionellen Dialog teil. (www.jalda-rebling.com)