Kolumba
Kolumbastraße 4
D-50667 Köln
tel +49 (0)221 9331930
fax +49 (0)221 93319333

     
Sunday, 3 November 2013
"Translatio"
7th Klangwerkstatt (Sound Workshop)

Maria Jonas, Stefan Morent and the Ars Choralis Coeln. This year's 7th Klangwerkstatt (Sound Workshop) is dedicated to a theme that is directly related to the annual museum exhibition hanging for 2013/14: The translatio (transfer, or abduction?) of the relics of the Holy Magi from Milan to Cologne in 1164 by Cologne Archbishop Rainald von Dassel. This event marks its 850-year anniversary in 2014. Together with Stefan Morent, we will study the ceremonial liturgical chants held by the Kölner Diözesan-und Dombibliothek (Library of the Cologne Cathedral and Diocese), but also those from other regions in Europe, which came about in conjunction with the liturgy of the Hours with respect to the veneration of the Three Kings, particularly in the Middle Ages. In addition, we will be translating these sources—yet a different kind of translatio— and music will be made. Moreover, we will become acquainted with chants for the other patron saints of Cologne, who form the basis of Cologne's fame as "Sancta Colonia," as it proudly referred to itself in the Middle Ages, or "Et hillije Kölle", as it is still known in dialect today. And thus, guided by the Three Magi, we will set out on an exciting search of the resonant topography of the Holy City of Cologne. In doing this, we will also acquire basic knowledge in liturgical matters (the structure of the mass and the Hours) and in the area of the different musical modes. As a greeting from Milan, the Ambrosian Hymns will also play an important role.

Prof. Dr. Stefan Morent
1995 doctorate, on a scholarship by the State Graduate Sponsorship Program (Landesgraduiertenförderung); 2004 habilitation with a study on "The Middle Ages in the 19th Century. A Contribution to the History of Composition in France" as a graduate fellow of "The Arts and Sciences in the Middle Ages and Early Modern Times. (Ars und Scientia im Mittelalter und der frühen Neuzeit)" in Tübingen, where he has been adjunct professor since 2008.

Regular admission fees apply.


_

Art museum of the
Archdiocese of Cologne

Current events
Architecture
Exhibitions
Awards
Videos
Information
Chapel
Reviews
Museums-History
Publications
Essays
Events
Education

08/17 Ten Years Kolumba
04/17 Artist Talk
01/17 Series of Concerts
11/16 10th Soundworkshop
06/16 Eric Hattan & Julian Sartorius
06/15 FORSETI feat. subsTANZ
06/15 Cologne Opera
03/15 Animated Cartoon Workshop
11/14 Soundtrack (Achim Lengerer)
11/14 Edith Stein Conference
11/14 Sound Workshop
10/14 Philosophical Discussion
10/14 Albert-Talk
10/14 Seminar on Philosophy
06/14 Visiting Schools III
02/14 Barlach-Haus
11/13 Dance performance
11/13 Sound Workshop
10/13 E-MEX-Ensemble
10/13 4th Albert-Discussion
05/13 Performances
03/13 Horatiu Radulescu
11/12 Sound Workshop
10/12 E-MEX-Ensemble
09/12 Girls' Choir
08/12 Cage: Empty Words
08/12 Hosting Schools II
08/12 Many thanks to all of the...
07/12 Table Talks
06/12 Table Concert
06/12 The chamber of meditation
05/12 episteme
05/12 new talents
04/12 Cage: A Collection of Rocks
03/12 Cage: Number Pieces
03/12 Hans Otte
11/11 Sound Workshop
09/11 Imploding Desk
07/11 Finissage
07/11 Schulen zu Gast I
11/10 Sound Workshop
11/10 Joseph Marioni
06/10 Steffen Krebber
05/10 Holy-Spirit Retable
02/10 Bernhard Leitner
02/10 Ash Wednesday
11/09 Sound Workshop
11/08 Workshop
10/08 Donaueschingen Festival
06/08 Kolumba is singing!
04/07 Art Cologne
08/05 1st view!
12/04 The Pietà from St. Kolumba
11/03 Schauspielhaus Köln
 

 
www.kolumba.de

KOLUMBA :: Events :: 11/13 Sound Workshop

Sunday, 3 November 2013
"Translatio"
7th Klangwerkstatt (Sound Workshop)

Maria Jonas, Stefan Morent and the Ars Choralis Coeln. This year's 7th Klangwerkstatt (Sound Workshop) is dedicated to a theme that is directly related to the annual museum exhibition hanging for 2013/14: The translatio (transfer, or abduction?) of the relics of the Holy Magi from Milan to Cologne in 1164 by Cologne Archbishop Rainald von Dassel. This event marks its 850-year anniversary in 2014. Together with Stefan Morent, we will study the ceremonial liturgical chants held by the Kölner Diözesan-und Dombibliothek (Library of the Cologne Cathedral and Diocese), but also those from other regions in Europe, which came about in conjunction with the liturgy of the Hours with respect to the veneration of the Three Kings, particularly in the Middle Ages. In addition, we will be translating these sources—yet a different kind of translatio— and music will be made. Moreover, we will become acquainted with chants for the other patron saints of Cologne, who form the basis of Cologne's fame as "Sancta Colonia," as it proudly referred to itself in the Middle Ages, or "Et hillije Kölle", as it is still known in dialect today. And thus, guided by the Three Magi, we will set out on an exciting search of the resonant topography of the Holy City of Cologne. In doing this, we will also acquire basic knowledge in liturgical matters (the structure of the mass and the Hours) and in the area of the different musical modes. As a greeting from Milan, the Ambrosian Hymns will also play an important role.

Prof. Dr. Stefan Morent
1995 doctorate, on a scholarship by the State Graduate Sponsorship Program (Landesgraduiertenförderung); 2004 habilitation with a study on "The Middle Ages in the 19th Century. A Contribution to the History of Composition in France" as a graduate fellow of "The Arts and Sciences in the Middle Ages and Early Modern Times. (Ars und Scientia im Mittelalter und der frühen Neuzeit)" in Tübingen, where he has been adjunct professor since 2008.

Regular admission fees apply.

Kolumba
Kolumbastraße 4
D-50667 Köln
tel +49 (0)221 9331930
fax +49 (0)221 93319333

     
Sonntag, 3. November 2013
»Translatio«
7. Klangwerkstatt, 12 bis 16 Uhr

Maria Jonas, Stefan Morent und Ars Choralis Coeln. Die 7. Klangwerkstatt widmet sich in diesem Jahr einem Thema, das in direktem Zusammenhang mit der Jahresausstellung des Museums 2013/14 steht: der Translatio (Überführung oder Entführung ?) der Reliquien der Heiligen Drei Könige 1164 durch den Kölner Erzbischof Rainald von Dassel von Mailand nach Köln. Dieses Ereignisjährt sich 2014 zum 850. Male. Wir werden gemeinsam mit Stefan Morent die festlichen liturgischen Gesänge im Bestand der Kölner Diözesan- und Dombibliothek, aber auch aus anderen Gegenden Europas, die zur Verehrung der Heiligen Drei Könige besonders für das Stundengebet im Mittelalter entstanden, studieren, aus den Quellen übertragen – eine weitere Translatio – und musizieren. Darüber hinaus werden wir auch die Gesänge für die anderen Kölner Stadtheiligen kennen lernen, die den Ruhm Kölns als „Sancta Colonia“, wie es sich selbst stolz im Mittelalter nannte, bzw. »Et hillije Kölle«, wie es heute noch im Volksmund heißt, begründeten. So werden wir uns, angeführt von den Heiligen Drei Königen, auf die spannende Spurensuche einer klingenden Topographie der Heiligen Kölns begeben. Vermittelt werden hierbei auch Grundkenntnisse im Bereich der Liturgie Aufbau von Messe und Stundengebet) und der musikalischen Modi. Als Gruß aus Mailand spielen dabei auch die Ambrosianischen Hymnen eine wichtige Rolle.

Prof. Dr. Stefan Morent
1995 Promotion zum Dr. phil. als Stipendiat der Landesgraduiertenförderung; 2004 Habilitation mit »Das Mittelalter im 19. Jahrhundert. Ein Beitrag zur Kompositionsgeschichte in Frankreich« als Stipendiat des Graduiertenkollegs »Ars undScientia im Mittelalter und der frühen Neuzeit« in Tübingen seit 2008 dort außerplanmäßiger Professor.

Es gelten die üblichen Eintrittspreise.


_

Kunstmuseum
des Erzbistums Köln

Aktuell
Architektur
Ausstellungen
Filme
Info
Kapelle
Kritiken
Museumsgeschichte
Publikationen
Texte
Veranstaltungen
Vermittlung

06/17 Vortrag Rüdiger Joppien
04/17 Künstlergespräch
03/17 Schulen zu Gast V
03/17 Künstlergespräch
01/17 Konzertreihe
11/16 Klangwerkstatt
11/16 Konzert E-MEX Ensemble
10/16 VII. Albert Gespräch
07/16 Erzählter Vortrag
06/16 Schulen zu Gast IV
06/16 Eric Hattan & Julian Sartorius
06/16 Oper Köln - Liederabend
05/16 new talents
05/16 Harvey Death of Light
12/15 Trickfilmwerkstatt
11/15 Ukulelen-Ensemble
11/15 Lesewerkstatt
11/15 Klangwerkstatt
10/15 E-MEX Ensemble
10/15 Winterreise
10/15 Albert-Gespräch
09/15 European Workshop
09/16 Lesestunde
09/15 Lesung Navid Kermani
08/15 Love & Diversity
07/15 Ensemble Unterwegs
06/15 FORSETI feat. subsTANZ
06/15 Oper Köln zu Gast
03/15 Trickfilmwerkstatt
11/14 Tonspur (Achim Lengerer)
11/14 Edith Stein Tagung
11/14 Klangwerkstatt
10/14 Philosophisches Gespräch
10/14 E-MEX-Ensemble
10/14 Albert-Gespräch
10/14 Philosophisches Seminar
06/14 Schulen zu Gast III
05/14 Ensemble Garage
05/14 Veranstaltungen Intervention
04/14 start:review
04/14 West Coast Soundings
02/14 Barlach-Haus
12/13 Ukulelen-Ensemble
11/13 Tanzperformance
11/13 Klangwerkstatt
10/13 E-MEX-Ensemble
10/13 Albert-Gespräch
07/13 Katrin Zenz
06/13 Frank Gratkowski
06/13 HornroH Duo
05/13 Performances
03/13 Horatiu Radulescu
11/12 Klangwerkstatt
10/12 E-MEX-Ensemble
09/12 Mädchenkantorei
08/12 Cage: Empty Words
08/12 Schulen zu Gast II
08/12 Allen Malern herzlichen...
07/12 Tischgespräche
06/12 Tischkonzert
06/12 Kammer der Andacht
05/12 episteme
05/12 new talents
04/12 Cage: A Collection of Rocks
03/12 Cage: Number Pieces
03/12 Hans Otte
11/11 Klangwerkstatt
10/11 Albert-Gespräch
09/11 Implodierender Schreibtisch
07/11 Finissage
07/11 Schulen zu Gast I
11/10 Klangwerkstatt
11/10 Joseph Marioni
10/10 Albert-Gespräch
06/10 Steffen Krebber
05/10 Heilig-Geist-Retabel
02/10 Bernhard Leitner
02/10 Aschermittwoch
11/09 Klangwerkstatt
09/09 Andor Weininger
11/08 Klangwerkstatt
10/08 Donaueschinger Musiktage
06/08 Kolumba singt!
05/08 Katholikentag
04/08 Verabschiedung JMP
02/08 Alphornbläser
12/07 Deutschlandradio live
04/07 Art Cologne
08/05 1st view!
12/04 Die Pietà aus St. Kolumba
11/03 Schauspielhaus Köln
 

 
www.kolumba.de

KOLUMBA :: Veranstaltungen :: 11/13 Klangwerkstatt

Sonntag, 3. November 2013
»Translatio«
7. Klangwerkstatt, 12 bis 16 Uhr

Maria Jonas, Stefan Morent und Ars Choralis Coeln. Die 7. Klangwerkstatt widmet sich in diesem Jahr einem Thema, das in direktem Zusammenhang mit der Jahresausstellung des Museums 2013/14 steht: der Translatio (Überführung oder Entführung ?) der Reliquien der Heiligen Drei Könige 1164 durch den Kölner Erzbischof Rainald von Dassel von Mailand nach Köln. Dieses Ereignisjährt sich 2014 zum 850. Male. Wir werden gemeinsam mit Stefan Morent die festlichen liturgischen Gesänge im Bestand der Kölner Diözesan- und Dombibliothek, aber auch aus anderen Gegenden Europas, die zur Verehrung der Heiligen Drei Könige besonders für das Stundengebet im Mittelalter entstanden, studieren, aus den Quellen übertragen – eine weitere Translatio – und musizieren. Darüber hinaus werden wir auch die Gesänge für die anderen Kölner Stadtheiligen kennen lernen, die den Ruhm Kölns als „Sancta Colonia“, wie es sich selbst stolz im Mittelalter nannte, bzw. »Et hillije Kölle«, wie es heute noch im Volksmund heißt, begründeten. So werden wir uns, angeführt von den Heiligen Drei Königen, auf die spannende Spurensuche einer klingenden Topographie der Heiligen Kölns begeben. Vermittelt werden hierbei auch Grundkenntnisse im Bereich der Liturgie Aufbau von Messe und Stundengebet) und der musikalischen Modi. Als Gruß aus Mailand spielen dabei auch die Ambrosianischen Hymnen eine wichtige Rolle.

Prof. Dr. Stefan Morent
1995 Promotion zum Dr. phil. als Stipendiat der Landesgraduiertenförderung; 2004 Habilitation mit »Das Mittelalter im 19. Jahrhundert. Ein Beitrag zur Kompositionsgeschichte in Frankreich« als Stipendiat des Graduiertenkollegs »Ars undScientia im Mittelalter und der frühen Neuzeit« in Tübingen seit 2008 dort außerplanmäßiger Professor.

Es gelten die üblichen Eintrittspreise.