Kolumba
Kolumbastraße 4
D-50667 Köln
tel +49 (0)221 9331930
fax +49 (0)221 93319333

     
16 October 2013, 6 p.m. (Admission 10 €)
E-MEX-Ensemble
“Of Sleep and Dreams”

With a concert program devoted entirely to sleep and dreams, the E-MEX-Ensemble is launching its autumn season in Cologne: Although sleep comes with a rather unexciting regularity, and seems to course inconspicuously as a non-experience most of the time, it nevertheless gives new cause for musical reflection over and over again. E-MEX, in its concert program “Of Sleep and Dreams,” gives musical shape to the non-tangible quality of our nocturnal recuperation. With works by contemporary and Romantic-era composers, E-Mex summons all of those things to our consciousness, things that a mere few hours later each of us will experience again in our unconscious. Intensive dream experience as well as its conditions and consequences may be perceived as an occurrence of material solidity. It doesn’t matter whether this is mechanically triggered, as with Nicolaus A. Huber, or if it comes and goes, following less stringent laws, as in Heinz Holliger’s “Clouds of Sleep”, in the sequence the unprotected permeability of the dream state may continue after awakening. There, it is then perceived under changed conditions, as Younghi Pagh-Paan reveals to us, allowing us to feel this in his “Sore from dreaming.” Although the magic of sleeping and dreaming is often regarded as a state of self-absence, it is equally plausible that sleep is wholly attentive and protective, geared to the sleeping person. Mark Randall Osborn’s “Sleep, in the Shape of my Body” leaves room for this interpretation of sleep as a place where one feels secure. Not least, piano works by Robert Schumann, Fryderyk Chopin and Claude Debussy serve to illustrate the typically Romantic dream topic as an escape from everyday life and the retreat to a sentimental inwardness.

The E-MEX-Ensemble is North Rhine Westphalia’s leading free ensemble for new music. With CDs, radio recordings, regular concerts, as well as international concert tours (to China, Korea, Chile, among other places), E-MEX is ever-present. In its concert series of contemporary music in Cologne and Essen, the E-MEX-Ensemble keeps searching for the roots of our present day, using works of classic Modernism. In so doing, E-MEX develops new concert formats outside customary performance venues. Thus, many of the concerts take place in exhibition rooms of museums, and often include a programmatic reference to the visual arts as well .

Program

Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
Träumerei from “Kinderszenen”, op. 15 (1838)

Mark Randall Osborn (1969-2002)
Sleep, in the Shape of my Body (1995)
For piccolo, clarinet, piano, violin and violoncello

Heinz Holliger
Schlafgewölk (Clouds of Sleep, 2000)
For alto flute, with Japanese temple bells or tubular bells ad lib.

Fryderyk Chopin (1810-1849)
Nocturne cis-Moll (c-sharp minor), op. post. (1830)

Jean-Luc Hervé (1960)
Rêve de vol (1996)
For viola and clarinet

Claude Debussy (1862-1918)
Nocturne (1890)

Nicolaus A. Huber
Traummechanik (Mechanics of Dreams, 1967)
For percussion and piano

Younghi Pagh-Paan (1945)
Wundgeträumt (Sore from dreaming, 2004/2005)
For flute, oboe, clarinet, violin, viola and violoncello

E-MEX
Evelin Degen, flute – Joachim Striepens, clarinet – Anja Schmiel, oboe – Kalina Kolarova, violin – Konrad von Coelln, viola – Burkart Zeller, violoncello – Martin von der Heydt, piano – Michael Pattmann, percussion – Christoph Maria Wagner, music direction


_

Art museum of the
Archdiocese of Cologne

Current events
Architecture
Exhibitions
Awards
Videos
Information
Chapel
Reviews
Museums-History
Publications
Essays
Events
Education


08/17 Ten Years Kolumba
04/17 Artist Talk
01/17 Series of Concerts
11/16 10th Soundworkshop
06/16 Eric Hattan & Julian Sartorius
06/15 FORSETI feat. subsTANZ
06/15 Cologne Opera
03/15 Animated Cartoon Workshop
11/14 Soundtrack (Achim Lengerer)
11/14 Edith Stein Conference
11/14 Sound Workshop
10/14 Philosophical Discussion
10/14 Albert-Talk
10/14 Seminar on Philosophy
06/14 Visiting Schools III
02/14 Barlach-Haus
11/13 Dance performance
11/13 Sound Workshop
10/13 E-MEX-Ensemble
10/13 4th Albert-Discussion
05/13 Performances
03/13 Horatiu Radulescu
11/12 Sound Workshop
10/12 E-MEX-Ensemble
09/12 Girls' Choir
08/12 Cage: Empty Words
08/12 Hosting Schools II
08/12 Many thanks to all of the...
07/12 Table Talks
06/12 Table Concert
06/12 The chamber of meditation
05/12 episteme
05/12 new talents
04/12 Cage: A Collection of Rocks
03/12 Cage: Number Pieces
03/12 Hans Otte
11/11 Sound Workshop
09/11 Imploding Desk
07/11 Finissage
07/11 Schulen zu Gast I
11/10 Sound Workshop
11/10 Joseph Marioni
06/10 Steffen Krebber
05/10 Holy-Spirit Retable
02/10 Bernhard Leitner
02/10 Ash Wednesday
11/09 Sound Workshop
11/08 Workshop
10/08 Donaueschingen Festival
06/08 Kolumba is singing!
04/07 Art Cologne
08/05 1st view!
12/04 The Pietà from St. Kolumba
11/03 Schauspielhaus Köln
 

 
www.kolumba.de

KOLUMBA :: Events :: 10/13 E-MEX-Ensemble

16 October 2013, 6 p.m. (Admission 10 €)
E-MEX-Ensemble
“Of Sleep and Dreams”

With a concert program devoted entirely to sleep and dreams, the E-MEX-Ensemble is launching its autumn season in Cologne: Although sleep comes with a rather unexciting regularity, and seems to course inconspicuously as a non-experience most of the time, it nevertheless gives new cause for musical reflection over and over again. E-MEX, in its concert program “Of Sleep and Dreams,” gives musical shape to the non-tangible quality of our nocturnal recuperation. With works by contemporary and Romantic-era composers, E-Mex summons all of those things to our consciousness, things that a mere few hours later each of us will experience again in our unconscious. Intensive dream experience as well as its conditions and consequences may be perceived as an occurrence of material solidity. It doesn’t matter whether this is mechanically triggered, as with Nicolaus A. Huber, or if it comes and goes, following less stringent laws, as in Heinz Holliger’s “Clouds of Sleep”, in the sequence the unprotected permeability of the dream state may continue after awakening. There, it is then perceived under changed conditions, as Younghi Pagh-Paan reveals to us, allowing us to feel this in his “Sore from dreaming.” Although the magic of sleeping and dreaming is often regarded as a state of self-absence, it is equally plausible that sleep is wholly attentive and protective, geared to the sleeping person. Mark Randall Osborn’s “Sleep, in the Shape of my Body” leaves room for this interpretation of sleep as a place where one feels secure. Not least, piano works by Robert Schumann, Fryderyk Chopin and Claude Debussy serve to illustrate the typically Romantic dream topic as an escape from everyday life and the retreat to a sentimental inwardness.

The E-MEX-Ensemble is North Rhine Westphalia’s leading free ensemble for new music. With CDs, radio recordings, regular concerts, as well as international concert tours (to China, Korea, Chile, among other places), E-MEX is ever-present. In its concert series of contemporary music in Cologne and Essen, the E-MEX-Ensemble keeps searching for the roots of our present day, using works of classic Modernism. In so doing, E-MEX develops new concert formats outside customary performance venues. Thus, many of the concerts take place in exhibition rooms of museums, and often include a programmatic reference to the visual arts as well .

Program

Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
Träumerei from “Kinderszenen”, op. 15 (1838)

Mark Randall Osborn (1969-2002)
Sleep, in the Shape of my Body (1995)
For piccolo, clarinet, piano, violin and violoncello

Heinz Holliger
Schlafgewölk (Clouds of Sleep, 2000)
For alto flute, with Japanese temple bells or tubular bells ad lib.

Fryderyk Chopin (1810-1849)
Nocturne cis-Moll (c-sharp minor), op. post. (1830)

Jean-Luc Hervé (1960)
Rêve de vol (1996)
For viola and clarinet

Claude Debussy (1862-1918)
Nocturne (1890)

Nicolaus A. Huber
Traummechanik (Mechanics of Dreams, 1967)
For percussion and piano

Younghi Pagh-Paan (1945)
Wundgeträumt (Sore from dreaming, 2004/2005)
For flute, oboe, clarinet, violin, viola and violoncello

E-MEX
Evelin Degen, flute – Joachim Striepens, clarinet – Anja Schmiel, oboe – Kalina Kolarova, violin – Konrad von Coelln, viola – Burkart Zeller, violoncello – Martin von der Heydt, piano – Michael Pattmann, percussion – Christoph Maria Wagner, music direction

Kolumba
Kolumbastraße 4
D-50667 Köln
tel +49 (0)221 9331930
fax +49 (0)221 93319333

     
16. Oktober 2013, 18 Uhr (Eintritt € 10)
E-MEX-Ensemble
»Vom Schlafen und Träumen«

Mit einem ganz dem Schlafen und Träumen gewidmeten Konzertprogramm leitet das EMEX-Ensemble die Herbstsaison in Köln ein:Obwohl ihm eine wenig spannende Regelmäßigkeit zu eigen ist und er in seinem Verlauf die weitaus größere Zeit unauffälliges Nichterleben zu sein scheint, ist der Schlaf dennoch immer wieder aufs Neue Anlass musikalischer Reflexion. E-MEX gibt mit seinem Konzertprogramm »Vom Schlafen und Träumen« dem Nichtfassbaren der nächtlichen Entspannung eine musikalische Gestalt. Mit Werken von Komponisten der Gegenwart und der Romantik holt E-MEX all jene Dinge ins Bewusstsein, die nur wenige Stunden später jedem wieder unbewusst widerfahren werden. – Intensives Traumerleben sowie seine Bedingungen und Folgen können als Geschehen von materialer Festigkeit wahrgenommen werden. Ganz gleich, ob dieses wie bei Nicolaus A. Huber mechanisch in Gang gesetzt wird oder wie in Heinz Holligers Schlafgewölk nach weniger fest gefügten Gesetzmäßigkeiten aufzieht und verschwindet, in der Folge kann die ungeschützte Durchlässigkeit des Traumzustands nach dem Erwachen andauern. Dort wird sie dann unter veränderten Bedingungen wahrgenommen, wie Younghi Pagh-Paan in Wundgeträumt spürbar werden lässt. Der Zauber des Schlafens und Träumens wird zwar oft als Selbstabwesenheit gedacht, aber ebenso ist es denkbar, dass der Schlaf ganz und gar fürsorglich auf den Schlafenden bezogen ist. Mark Randall Osborns Sleep, in the Shape of my Body lässt Raum für diese Deutung des Schlafs als Ort der Geborgenheit. Nicht zuletzt bebildern die Klavierwerke von Robert Schumann, Fryderyk Chopin und Claude Debussy den typisch romantischen Traumtopos der Alltagsflucht und des Rückzugs in eine sentimentale Innerlichkeit.

Das E-MEX-Ensemble ist NRWs freies Spitzenensemble für neue Musik. Mit CDs, Rundfunkaufnahmen, regelmäßigen Konzerten sowie durch internationale Konzertreisen (u.a. China, Korea, Chile) ist E-MEX stets präsent. In seinen Konzertreihen mit zeitgenössischer Musik in Köln und Essen fragt das E-MEX-Ensemble mit Werken der Klassischen Moderne immer wieder nach den Wurzeln der Gegenwart. Dazu entwickelt E-MEX neue Konzertformate außerhalb gängiger Aufführungsorte. Viele Konzerte finden daher in Ausstellungsräumen von Museen, oft auch mit programmatischem Bezug zur bildenden Kunst, statt.

Programm
Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
Träumerei aus «Kinderszenen» op.15 (1838)

Mark Randall Osborn (1969-2002)
Sleep, in the Shape of my Body (1995)
für Piccolo, Klarinette, Klavier, Violine und Violoncello

Heinz Holliger (1939)
Schlafgewölk (2000)
für Altflöte, mit japanischen Tempelglocken oder Röhrenglocken ad lib

Fryderyk Chopin (1810-1849)
Nocturne cis-Moll op. post. (1830)

Jean-Luc Hervé (1960)
Rêve de vol (1996)
für Viola und Klarinette

Claude Debussy (1862-1918)
Nocturne (1890)

Nicolaus A. Huber (1936)
Traummechanik (1967)
für Schlagzeug und Klavier

Younghi Pagh-Paan (1945)
Wundgeträumt (2004/05)
für Flöte, Oboe, Klarinette, Violine, Viola und Violoncello

E-MEX
Evelin Degen, Flöte – Joachim Striepens, Klarinette – Anja Schmiel, Oboe – Kalina Kolarova, Violine – Konrad von Coelln, Viola – Burkart Zeller, Violoncello – Martin von der Heydt, Klavier – Michael Pattmann, Schlagzeug – Christoph Maria Wagner, musikalische Leitung


_

Kunstmuseum
des Erzbistums Köln

Aktuell
Architektur
Ausstellungen
Auszeichnungen
Filme
Info
Kapelle
Kritiken
Museumsgeschichte
Publikationen
Texte
Veranstaltungen
Vermittlung

08/17 Zehn Jahre Kolumba
07/17 Flötenwerkstatt
06/17 Fronleichnam
06/17 Thomas-Morus-Akademie
06/17 Vortrag Rüdiger Joppien
04/17 Künstlergespräch
03/17 Schulen zu Gast V
03/17 Künstlergespräch
01/17 Konzertreihe
11/16 Klangwerkstatt
11/16 Konzert E-MEX Ensemble
10/16 VII. Albert Gespräch
07/16 Erzählter Vortrag
06/16 Schulen zu Gast IV
06/16 Eric Hattan & Julian Sartorius
06/16 Oper Köln - Liederabend
05/16 new talents
05/16 Harvey Death of Light
12/15 Trickfilmwerkstatt
11/15 Ukulelen-Ensemble
11/15 Lesewerkstatt
11/15 Klangwerkstatt
10/15 E-MEX Ensemble
10/15 Winterreise
10/15 Albert-Gespräch
09/15 European Workshop
09/16 Lesestunde
09/15 Lesung Navid Kermani
08/15 Love & Diversity
07/15 Ensemble Unterwegs
06/15 FORSETI feat. subsTANZ
06/15 Oper Köln zu Gast
03/15 Trickfilmwerkstatt
11/14 Tonspur (Achim Lengerer)
11/14 Edith Stein Tagung
11/14 Klangwerkstatt
10/14 Philosophisches Gespräch
10/14 E-MEX-Ensemble
10/14 Albert-Gespräch
10/14 Philosophisches Seminar
06/14 Schulen zu Gast III
05/14 Ensemble Garage
05/14 Veranstaltungen Intervention
04/14 start:review
04/14 West Coast Soundings
02/14 Barlach-Haus
12/13 Ukulelen-Ensemble
11/13 Tanzperformance
11/13 Klangwerkstatt
10/13 E-MEX-Ensemble
10/13 Albert-Gespräch
07/13 Katrin Zenz
06/13 Frank Gratkowski
06/13 HornroH Duo
05/13 Performances
03/13 Horatiu Radulescu
11/12 Klangwerkstatt
10/12 E-MEX-Ensemble
09/12 Mädchenkantorei
08/12 Cage: Empty Words
08/12 Schulen zu Gast II
08/12 Allen Malern herzlichen...
07/12 Tischgespräche
06/12 Tischkonzert
06/12 Kammer der Andacht
05/12 episteme
05/12 new talents
04/12 Cage: A Collection of Rocks
03/12 Cage: Number Pieces
03/12 Hans Otte
11/11 Klangwerkstatt
10/11 Albert-Gespräch
09/11 Implodierender Schreibtisch
07/11 Finissage
07/11 Schulen zu Gast I
11/10 Klangwerkstatt
11/10 Joseph Marioni
10/10 Albert-Gespräch
06/10 Steffen Krebber
05/10 Heilig-Geist-Retabel
02/10 Bernhard Leitner
02/10 Aschermittwoch
11/09 Klangwerkstatt
09/09 Andor Weininger
11/08 Klangwerkstatt
10/08 Donaueschinger Musiktage
06/08 Kolumba singt!
05/08 Katholikentag
04/08 Verabschiedung JMP
02/08 Alphornbläser
12/07 Deutschlandradio live
04/07 Art Cologne
08/05 1st view!
12/04 Die Pietà aus St. Kolumba
11/03 Schauspielhaus Köln
 

 
www.kolumba.de

KOLUMBA :: Veranstaltungen :: 10/13 E-MEX-Ensemble

16. Oktober 2013, 18 Uhr (Eintritt € 10)
E-MEX-Ensemble
»Vom Schlafen und Träumen«

Mit einem ganz dem Schlafen und Träumen gewidmeten Konzertprogramm leitet das EMEX-Ensemble die Herbstsaison in Köln ein:Obwohl ihm eine wenig spannende Regelmäßigkeit zu eigen ist und er in seinem Verlauf die weitaus größere Zeit unauffälliges Nichterleben zu sein scheint, ist der Schlaf dennoch immer wieder aufs Neue Anlass musikalischer Reflexion. E-MEX gibt mit seinem Konzertprogramm »Vom Schlafen und Träumen« dem Nichtfassbaren der nächtlichen Entspannung eine musikalische Gestalt. Mit Werken von Komponisten der Gegenwart und der Romantik holt E-MEX all jene Dinge ins Bewusstsein, die nur wenige Stunden später jedem wieder unbewusst widerfahren werden. – Intensives Traumerleben sowie seine Bedingungen und Folgen können als Geschehen von materialer Festigkeit wahrgenommen werden. Ganz gleich, ob dieses wie bei Nicolaus A. Huber mechanisch in Gang gesetzt wird oder wie in Heinz Holligers Schlafgewölk nach weniger fest gefügten Gesetzmäßigkeiten aufzieht und verschwindet, in der Folge kann die ungeschützte Durchlässigkeit des Traumzustands nach dem Erwachen andauern. Dort wird sie dann unter veränderten Bedingungen wahrgenommen, wie Younghi Pagh-Paan in Wundgeträumt spürbar werden lässt. Der Zauber des Schlafens und Träumens wird zwar oft als Selbstabwesenheit gedacht, aber ebenso ist es denkbar, dass der Schlaf ganz und gar fürsorglich auf den Schlafenden bezogen ist. Mark Randall Osborns Sleep, in the Shape of my Body lässt Raum für diese Deutung des Schlafs als Ort der Geborgenheit. Nicht zuletzt bebildern die Klavierwerke von Robert Schumann, Fryderyk Chopin und Claude Debussy den typisch romantischen Traumtopos der Alltagsflucht und des Rückzugs in eine sentimentale Innerlichkeit.

Das E-MEX-Ensemble ist NRWs freies Spitzenensemble für neue Musik. Mit CDs, Rundfunkaufnahmen, regelmäßigen Konzerten sowie durch internationale Konzertreisen (u.a. China, Korea, Chile) ist E-MEX stets präsent. In seinen Konzertreihen mit zeitgenössischer Musik in Köln und Essen fragt das E-MEX-Ensemble mit Werken der Klassischen Moderne immer wieder nach den Wurzeln der Gegenwart. Dazu entwickelt E-MEX neue Konzertformate außerhalb gängiger Aufführungsorte. Viele Konzerte finden daher in Ausstellungsräumen von Museen, oft auch mit programmatischem Bezug zur bildenden Kunst, statt.

Programm
Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
Träumerei aus «Kinderszenen» op.15 (1838)

Mark Randall Osborn (1969-2002)
Sleep, in the Shape of my Body (1995)
für Piccolo, Klarinette, Klavier, Violine und Violoncello

Heinz Holliger (1939)
Schlafgewölk (2000)
für Altflöte, mit japanischen Tempelglocken oder Röhrenglocken ad lib

Fryderyk Chopin (1810-1849)
Nocturne cis-Moll op. post. (1830)

Jean-Luc Hervé (1960)
Rêve de vol (1996)
für Viola und Klarinette

Claude Debussy (1862-1918)
Nocturne (1890)

Nicolaus A. Huber (1936)
Traummechanik (1967)
für Schlagzeug und Klavier

Younghi Pagh-Paan (1945)
Wundgeträumt (2004/05)
für Flöte, Oboe, Klarinette, Violine, Viola und Violoncello

E-MEX
Evelin Degen, Flöte – Joachim Striepens, Klarinette – Anja Schmiel, Oboe – Kalina Kolarova, Violine – Konrad von Coelln, Viola – Burkart Zeller, Violoncello – Martin von der Heydt, Klavier – Michael Pattmann, Schlagzeug – Christoph Maria Wagner, musikalische Leitung