Kolumba
Kolumbastraße 4
D-50667 Köln
tel +49 (0)221 9331930
fax +49 (0)221 93319333

     
15 April to 24 August 2015
Monika Bartholomé – Museum for Drawing

Monika Bartholomé has gained repute for her drawings, not least also for the works she completed recently for the hymn and prayerbook of the German-speaking Catholic dioceses. Less well known is her extensive archive on drawing, which consists of postcards, publications, newspaper articles, films and original drawings, and which is now being introduced to the public for the first time as “Museum for Drawing” at Kolumba. Monika Bartholomé has assembled this collection over many years. In doing so, she not only places her own art in a larger context, she also opens up a “musée imaginaire”, a cabinet of curiosities full of allusions and cross references, multimedial, interdisciplinary, independent, subjective, playful, poetic and informative.

The Museum for Drawing is an artistic project and a nomadic institution that comes to nest at a certain location where it attains a certain order or “exhibition”. Its temporary character becomes apparent, among other things, in the exhibition architecture, which consists of portable panels, tables, and stools made of simple plywood. The furnishings, designed by the artist herself, have the effect of a connecting element creating a unit that supports the idea of the collection, allotting it space in which it can be grasped physically and intellectually. The museum operates largely with reproductions, defining the notion of drawing in a broader sense than traditional art history does with its focus on the autonomous work. It seeks an anthropological explanation for drawing, bringing together exhibits that range from cliff drawings to book illuminations or tattoos. As a visual archive and as “a mobile space for thought” (MB), it combines art with research and confronts traditional notions of order and values with an open, versatile system of references.

For this first presentation at Kolumba, the Museum for Drawing is also integrating pieces from Kolumba’s own collection. Among these, in addition to children’s books and works by Oskar Schlemmer and Franz-Wilhelm Seiwert, are also Monika Bartholomé’s drawings for the “Gotteslob (hymn and prayerbook)”, which have recently entered the Kolumba collection as a gift from the Association of German Dioceses. Their first-time-ever presentation provides the occasion for this solo exhibition within the framework of the current annual exhibition “playing by heart”. This hymn and prayerbook, common to all German-speaking Catholic dioceses (with the exception of Switzerland), was completely reworked over a ten-year period with respect to its content and design by a working group led by Friedhelm Hofmann, Bishop of Würzburg, and subsequently introduced to the public at the end of 2013. Numbering six million copies in print today, it is certainly a bestseller. Among the work’s almost bibliophile features are the drawings comprehensively displayed here, which contribute to making the book a source of inspiration even beyond the words and hymns.


To accompany the exhibition there will be a workbook on the drawings in the “Gotteslob” hymn and prayerbook, which contains articles by Friedhelm Hofmann and Stefan Kraus.
In addition, as the first publication of the Museum for Drawing, an artist’s booklet on Monika Bartholomé will feature a conversation between Monika Bartholomé and Barbara von Flüe.


Events

Friday, 29 Mai 2015, 6 p.m.
drawing and building
Monika Bartholomé in a discussion with Peter Zumthor, architect
(normal admission fee, limited number of participants)

Monday, 8 June 2015, 6 p.m.
Drawing from a prehistorical point of view. Is there a connection to graffiti today?
Monika Bartholomé in a discussion with Tilman Lenssen-Erz, researcher of prehistoric cliff drawings in Africa and Jörg Neubig, architect und city planner
(normal admission fee, limited number of participants)

Monday, 17 August 2015, 6 p.m.
Why people prick themselves: Tatooing as a drawing means of self-assurance?
Monika Bartholomé in a discussion with Tobias Lobstädt, educator and author
(normal admission fee, limited number of participants)

Saturday, 22 August 2015, 3 p.m.
"I think myself into existence" – The KUNSTHAUS KAT 18
A tour with Monika Bartholomé, Jutta Pöstges, artistic director and artists of the studio collective
Meeting place: KUNSTHAUS KAT 18, Kartäuserwall 18, 50678 Köln
(limited number of participants: reservations at 0221-933193-32)


_

Art museum of the
Archdiocese of Cologne

Current events
Architecture
Exhibitions
Awards
Videos
Information
Chapel
Reviews
Museums-History
Publications
Essays
Events
Education

2017 Pas de deux

2017 Marek Poliks
2017 Eric Hattan
2017 Office for...
2017 Barthel Bruyn
2016 Street Art Project
2016 Kurt Benning
2016 On the Individual

2016 Bethan Huws
2015 Shopmovies
2015 Anna & Bernhard Blume
2015 The Read Thread

2015 Museum for Drawing
2015 Birgit Antoni: Cinema
2014 Vertigo of Reality
2014 playing by heart

2014 Achim Lengerer
2014 Bruno Jakob
2013 show cover hide

2013 Eucharist
2013 Norbert Schwontkowski
2013 Pascal Schwaighofer
2012 Art is Liturgy – Paul Thek

2012 Leiko Ikemura
2012 Volker Saul
2012 Jaromir Novotny
2011 Birgit Antoni
2011 thinking

2011 Philipp Wewerka
2010 Mischa Kuball
2010 Noli me tangere!

2010 Heinrich Küpper
2010 Robert Haiss
2010 Renate Köhler
2010 Georg Baumgarten
2009 Stefan Wewerka
09/09 Bequest

2009 Koho Mori-Newton
2009 Hermann Abrell
2008 Heiner Binding
2008 Man Leaving Earth

2007 Infinite Space Expands

2006 In the Garden of Reality II
2006 Werner Schriefers
2006 In the Garden of Reality I
2005 The Egner Donation
2005 Leiko Ikemura
2005 Arma Christi
2005 Hans Josephsohn
2005 Coptic Textiles
2005 Birgit Antoni
2004 Monika Bartholomé
2004 Max Cole
2003 Reliquary Crosses
2004 Heinrich Küpper
2003 Martin Frommelt
2003 150 Years!
2002 Attila Kovács
2002 Herbert Falken
2002 Peter Tollens
2001 ars vivendi
2001 Peter Zumthor
2000 Volume
2000 walkmen
2000 The Härle Donation
2000 Children's drawings
2000 About Reality
1999 Andor Weininger
1999 Joseph Marioni
1999 Andy Warhol
1998 Kunsthalle Baden-Baden
1998 Faith and Knowledge
1998 Stephan Baumkötter
1998 Bernd Ikemann
1998 Kabakov Pane a.o.
1998 Hildegard Domizlaff
1997 Cage Tsangaris a.o.
1997 Richard Serra
1997 Manos Tsangaris
1997 Kunst-Station
1997 Klaus vom Bruch
1997 About the Site: Kolumba
1996 About Ambivalence
1996 Chris Newman
1996 Peter Tollens
1996 Wolfgang Laib
1996 About Colour
1995 Early Christian Art
1995 Mischa Kuball
1995 Palace of Art
1995 Horn Falken Michals, a.o.
1995 Monika Bartholomé
1993 Tápies Thek Tuttle u.a.
1992 Vaticana
 

 
www.kolumba.de

KOLUMBA :: Exhibitions :: 2015 Museum for Drawing

15 April to 24 August 2015
Monika Bartholomé – Museum for Drawing

Monika Bartholomé has gained repute for her drawings, not least also for the works she completed recently for the hymn and prayerbook of the German-speaking Catholic dioceses. Less well known is her extensive archive on drawing, which consists of postcards, publications, newspaper articles, films and original drawings, and which is now being introduced to the public for the first time as “Museum for Drawing” at Kolumba. Monika Bartholomé has assembled this collection over many years. In doing so, she not only places her own art in a larger context, she also opens up a “musée imaginaire”, a cabinet of curiosities full of allusions and cross references, multimedial, interdisciplinary, independent, subjective, playful, poetic and informative.

The Museum for Drawing is an artistic project and a nomadic institution that comes to nest at a certain location where it attains a certain order or “exhibition”. Its temporary character becomes apparent, among other things, in the exhibition architecture, which consists of portable panels, tables, and stools made of simple plywood. The furnishings, designed by the artist herself, have the effect of a connecting element creating a unit that supports the idea of the collection, allotting it space in which it can be grasped physically and intellectually. The museum operates largely with reproductions, defining the notion of drawing in a broader sense than traditional art history does with its focus on the autonomous work. It seeks an anthropological explanation for drawing, bringing together exhibits that range from cliff drawings to book illuminations or tattoos. As a visual archive and as “a mobile space for thought” (MB), it combines art with research and confronts traditional notions of order and values with an open, versatile system of references.

For this first presentation at Kolumba, the Museum for Drawing is also integrating pieces from Kolumba’s own collection. Among these, in addition to children’s books and works by Oskar Schlemmer and Franz-Wilhelm Seiwert, are also Monika Bartholomé’s drawings for the “Gotteslob (hymn and prayerbook)”, which have recently entered the Kolumba collection as a gift from the Association of German Dioceses. Their first-time-ever presentation provides the occasion for this solo exhibition within the framework of the current annual exhibition “playing by heart”. This hymn and prayerbook, common to all German-speaking Catholic dioceses (with the exception of Switzerland), was completely reworked over a ten-year period with respect to its content and design by a working group led by Friedhelm Hofmann, Bishop of Würzburg, and subsequently introduced to the public at the end of 2013. Numbering six million copies in print today, it is certainly a bestseller. Among the work’s almost bibliophile features are the drawings comprehensively displayed here, which contribute to making the book a source of inspiration even beyond the words and hymns.


To accompany the exhibition there will be a workbook on the drawings in the “Gotteslob” hymn and prayerbook, which contains articles by Friedhelm Hofmann and Stefan Kraus.
In addition, as the first publication of the Museum for Drawing, an artist’s booklet on Monika Bartholomé will feature a conversation between Monika Bartholomé and Barbara von Flüe.


Events

Friday, 29 Mai 2015, 6 p.m.
drawing and building
Monika Bartholomé in a discussion with Peter Zumthor, architect
(normal admission fee, limited number of participants)

Monday, 8 June 2015, 6 p.m.
Drawing from a prehistorical point of view. Is there a connection to graffiti today?
Monika Bartholomé in a discussion with Tilman Lenssen-Erz, researcher of prehistoric cliff drawings in Africa and Jörg Neubig, architect und city planner
(normal admission fee, limited number of participants)

Monday, 17 August 2015, 6 p.m.
Why people prick themselves: Tatooing as a drawing means of self-assurance?
Monika Bartholomé in a discussion with Tobias Lobstädt, educator and author
(normal admission fee, limited number of participants)

Saturday, 22 August 2015, 3 p.m.
"I think myself into existence" – The KUNSTHAUS KAT 18
A tour with Monika Bartholomé, Jutta Pöstges, artistic director and artists of the studio collective
Meeting place: KUNSTHAUS KAT 18, Kartäuserwall 18, 50678 Köln
(limited number of participants: reservations at 0221-933193-32)

Kolumba
Kolumbastraße 4
D-50667 Köln
tel +49 (0)221 9331930
fax +49 (0)221 93319333

     
15. April bis 24. August 2015
Monika Bartholomé – Museum für Zeichnung

Monika Bartholomé ist als Zeichnerin bekannt geworden, nicht zuletzt auch durch die Arbeiten, die sie jüngst für das Gebet- und Gesangbuch der deutschsprachigen katholischen Bistümer realisiert hat. Weniger bekannt ist ihr umfangreiches Archiv über die Zeichnung, das Postkarten, Publikationen, Zeitungsartikel, Filme und Originalzeichnungen umfasst und das nun im Museum für Zeichnung in Kolumba erstmals öffentlich präsentiert wird. Monika Bartholomé hat diese Sammlung über viele Jahre zusammengetragen. Sie stellt damit nicht nur ihre eigene Kunst in einen größeren Kontext, sondern eröffnet ein eigentliches »musée imaginaire«, eine Wunderkammer voller Anspielungen und Querverweise, medienübergreifend und interdisziplinär, unabhängig, subjektiv, spielerisch, poetisch und informativ.

Das Museum für Zeichnung ist ein künstlerisches Projekt und eine nomadische Institution, die sich an einem Ort einnistet und dort eine bestimmte Ordnung bzw. »Ausstellung« findet. Sein temporärer Charakter zeigt sich u.a. in der Ausstellungsarchitektur, die aus tragbaren Paneelen, Tischen und Hockern aus einfachem Sperrholz besteht. Das von der Künstlerin selbst entworfene Mobiliar wirkt verbindend und schafft eine Einheit, die die Idee der Sammlung unterstützt und ihr den Raum gibt, in dem sie physisch und gedanklich fassbar wird. Das Museum arbeitet vorwiegend mit Reproduktionen und fasst den Begriff der Zeichnung weiter als die traditionelle Kunstgeschichte mit ihrem Blick auf das autonome Werk. Es sucht nach einer anthropologischen Begründung der Zeichnung und versammelt Exponate von der Felszeichnung über die Buchmalerei bis zum Tattoo. Als visuelles Archiv und als »Denkraum auf Wanderschaft« (MB) verbindet es die Kunst mit der Forschung und stellt herkömmlichen Ordnungen und Wertvorstellungen ein offenes, bewegliches Referenzsystem entgegen.

In seine erste Präsentation in Kolumba integriert das Museum für Zeichnung auch Exponate aus der Sammlung des Hauses. Dazu gehören auch Monika Bartholomés Zeichnungen für das »Gotteslob«, die als Schenkung des Verbands der Diözesen Deutschlands neu in die Sammlung gekommen sind. Ihre Erstpräsentation liefert den Anlass der Einzelausstellung im Kontext der Jahresausstellung »playing by heart«. Das gemeinsame Gebet- und Gesangbuch aller deutschsprachigen katholischen Bistümer (außer der Schweiz) wurde von einer Arbeitsgruppe unter Leitung von Friedhelm Hofmann, dem Bischof von Würzburg, in zehnjähriger Arbeit in Inhalt und Gestaltung völlig neu konzipiert und Ende 2013 der Öffentlichkeit vorgestellt. Mit bis heute sechs Millionen gedruckten Exemplaren kann man es als echten Bestseller bezeichnen. Zu seiner fast bibliophilen Ausstattung zählen die nun erstmals umfassend präsentierten Zeichnungen, die dazu beitragen, dass das Buch auch jenseits der Worte und Lieder eine Inspirationsquelle ist.

Zur Ausstellung erscheinen ein Werkheft zu den Zeichnungen im »Gotteslob«, mit Texten von Friedhelm Hofmann und Stefan Kraus, sowie als erste Publikation des Museums für Zeichnung ein Künstlerheft von Monika Bartholomé, mit einem Gespräch zwischen Monika Bartholomé und Barbara von Flüe.


Veranstaltungen

Freitag, 29. Mai 2015, 18 Uhr
zeichnen und bauen. Monika Bartholomé im Gespräch mit Peter Zumthor, Architekt (regulärer Eintritt, begrenzte Teilnehmerzahl, Einlass 17.30 Uhr)

Montag, 8. Juni 2015, 18 Uhr
Die Zeichnung aus prähistorischer Sicht. Gibt es eine Verbindung zu Graffiti heute? Monika Bartholomé im Gespräch mit Tilman Lenssen-Erz, Erforscher prähistorischer Felszeichnungen in Afrika und Jörg Neubig, Architekt und Stadtplaner (regulärer Eintritt, begrenzte Teilnehmerzahl, das erste Ausstellungsgeschoss bleibt bis 18 h durchgehend geöffnet)

Montag, 17. August 2015, 18 Uhr
Warum sich Menschen stechen lassen: Tätowierung als zeichnerisches Mittel der Selbstvergewisserung? Monika Bartholomé im Gespräch mit Tobias Lobstädt, Pädagoge und Autor (regulärer Eintritt, begrenzte Teilnehmerzahl, Einlass 17.30 Uhr)

Samstag, 22. August 2015, 15 Uhr
„Ich denke mich selber“ – Das KUNSTHAUS KAT 18
Rundgang mit Monika Bartholomé, Jutta Pöstges, Künstlerische Leiterin und Künstlerinnen und Künstlern der Ateliergemeinschaft. Treffpunkt: KUNSTHAUS KAT 18, Kartäuserwall 18, 50678 Köln (begrenzte Teilnehmerzahl: Anmeldung bitte unter 0221-933193-32)


_

Kunstmuseum
des Erzbistums Köln

Aktuell
Architektur
Ausstellungen
Filme
Info
Kapelle
Kritiken
Museumsgeschichte
Publikationen
Texte
Veranstaltungen
Vermittlung

2017 Eric Hattan
2017 Büro für ...
2017 Barthel Bruyn
2016 Street Art-Projekt
2016 Kurt Benning
2016 Über das Individuum

2016 Bethan Huws
2015 Shopmovies
2015 Anna & Bernhard Blume
2015 Der rote Faden

2015 Museum für Zeichnung
2015 Birgit Antoni: Kino
2014 Schwindel der Wirklichkeit
2014 playing by heart

2014 Achim Lengerer
2014 Bruno Jakob
2013 zeigen verhüllen verbergen

2013 Eucharistie
2013 Norbert Schwontkowski
2013 Pascal Schwaighofer
2012 Art is Liturgy – Paul Thek

2012 Leiko Ikemura
2012 Volker Saul
2012 Jaromir Novotny
2011 Birgit Antoni
2011 denken

2011 Philipp Wewerka
2011 Kunst-Station St. Peter
2010 Mischa Kuball
2010 Noli me tangere!

2010 Heinrich Küpper
2010 Robert Haiss
2010 Renate Köhler
2010 Georg Baumgarten
2009 Stefan Wewerka
2009 Hinterlassenschaft

2009 Koho Mori-Newton
2009 Hermann Abrell
2008 Heiner Binding
2008 Der Mensch verlässt die Erde

2007 Der unendliche Raum…

2006 Im Garten der Wirklichkeit II
2006 Werner Schriefers
2006 Im Garten der Wirklichkeit I
2005 Schenkung Egner
2005 Leiko Ikemura
2005 Arma Christi
2005 Hans Josephsohn
2005 Die koptischen Textilien
2005 Birgit Antoni
2004 Monika Bartholomé
2004 Max Cole
2003 Reliquienkreuze
2004 Heinrich Küpper
2003 Martin Frommelt
2003 150 Jahre!
2002 Attila Kovács
2002 Herbert Falken
2002 Peter Tollens
2001 ars vivendi
2001 Peter Zumthor
2000 Volumen
2000 walkmen
2000 Die Schenkung Härle
2000 Kinderzeichnungen
2000 Über die Wirklichkeit
1999 Andor Weininger
1999 Joseph Marioni
1999 Andy Warhol
1998 Kunsthalle Baden-Baden
1998 Glaube und Wissen
1998 Stephan Baumkötter
1998 Bernd Ikemann
1998 Kabakov Pane u.a.
1998 Hildegard Domizlaff
1997 Cage Tsangaris u.a.
1997 Richard Serra
1997 Manos Tsangaris
1997 Kunst-Station
1997 Klaus vom Bruch
1997 Über den Ort: Kolumba
1996 Über die Ambivalenz
1996 Chris Newman
1996 Peter Tollens
1996 Wolfgang Laib
1996 Über die Farbe
1995 Frühchristliche Kunst
1995 Mischa Kuball
1995 Palast der Kunst
1995 Horn Falken Michals, u.a.
1995 Monika Bartholomé
1993 Tápies Thek Tuttle u.a.
1992 Vaticana
 

 
www.kolumba.de

KOLUMBA :: Ausstellungen :: 2015 Museum für Zeichnung

15. April bis 24. August 2015
Monika Bartholomé – Museum für Zeichnung

Monika Bartholomé ist als Zeichnerin bekannt geworden, nicht zuletzt auch durch die Arbeiten, die sie jüngst für das Gebet- und Gesangbuch der deutschsprachigen katholischen Bistümer realisiert hat. Weniger bekannt ist ihr umfangreiches Archiv über die Zeichnung, das Postkarten, Publikationen, Zeitungsartikel, Filme und Originalzeichnungen umfasst und das nun im Museum für Zeichnung in Kolumba erstmals öffentlich präsentiert wird. Monika Bartholomé hat diese Sammlung über viele Jahre zusammengetragen. Sie stellt damit nicht nur ihre eigene Kunst in einen größeren Kontext, sondern eröffnet ein eigentliches »musée imaginaire«, eine Wunderkammer voller Anspielungen und Querverweise, medienübergreifend und interdisziplinär, unabhängig, subjektiv, spielerisch, poetisch und informativ.

Das Museum für Zeichnung ist ein künstlerisches Projekt und eine nomadische Institution, die sich an einem Ort einnistet und dort eine bestimmte Ordnung bzw. »Ausstellung« findet. Sein temporärer Charakter zeigt sich u.a. in der Ausstellungsarchitektur, die aus tragbaren Paneelen, Tischen und Hockern aus einfachem Sperrholz besteht. Das von der Künstlerin selbst entworfene Mobiliar wirkt verbindend und schafft eine Einheit, die die Idee der Sammlung unterstützt und ihr den Raum gibt, in dem sie physisch und gedanklich fassbar wird. Das Museum arbeitet vorwiegend mit Reproduktionen und fasst den Begriff der Zeichnung weiter als die traditionelle Kunstgeschichte mit ihrem Blick auf das autonome Werk. Es sucht nach einer anthropologischen Begründung der Zeichnung und versammelt Exponate von der Felszeichnung über die Buchmalerei bis zum Tattoo. Als visuelles Archiv und als »Denkraum auf Wanderschaft« (MB) verbindet es die Kunst mit der Forschung und stellt herkömmlichen Ordnungen und Wertvorstellungen ein offenes, bewegliches Referenzsystem entgegen.

In seine erste Präsentation in Kolumba integriert das Museum für Zeichnung auch Exponate aus der Sammlung des Hauses. Dazu gehören auch Monika Bartholomés Zeichnungen für das »Gotteslob«, die als Schenkung des Verbands der Diözesen Deutschlands neu in die Sammlung gekommen sind. Ihre Erstpräsentation liefert den Anlass der Einzelausstellung im Kontext der Jahresausstellung »playing by heart«. Das gemeinsame Gebet- und Gesangbuch aller deutschsprachigen katholischen Bistümer (außer der Schweiz) wurde von einer Arbeitsgruppe unter Leitung von Friedhelm Hofmann, dem Bischof von Würzburg, in zehnjähriger Arbeit in Inhalt und Gestaltung völlig neu konzipiert und Ende 2013 der Öffentlichkeit vorgestellt. Mit bis heute sechs Millionen gedruckten Exemplaren kann man es als echten Bestseller bezeichnen. Zu seiner fast bibliophilen Ausstattung zählen die nun erstmals umfassend präsentierten Zeichnungen, die dazu beitragen, dass das Buch auch jenseits der Worte und Lieder eine Inspirationsquelle ist.

Zur Ausstellung erscheinen ein Werkheft zu den Zeichnungen im »Gotteslob«, mit Texten von Friedhelm Hofmann und Stefan Kraus, sowie als erste Publikation des Museums für Zeichnung ein Künstlerheft von Monika Bartholomé, mit einem Gespräch zwischen Monika Bartholomé und Barbara von Flüe.


Veranstaltungen

Freitag, 29. Mai 2015, 18 Uhr
zeichnen und bauen. Monika Bartholomé im Gespräch mit Peter Zumthor, Architekt (regulärer Eintritt, begrenzte Teilnehmerzahl, Einlass 17.30 Uhr)

Montag, 8. Juni 2015, 18 Uhr
Die Zeichnung aus prähistorischer Sicht. Gibt es eine Verbindung zu Graffiti heute? Monika Bartholomé im Gespräch mit Tilman Lenssen-Erz, Erforscher prähistorischer Felszeichnungen in Afrika und Jörg Neubig, Architekt und Stadtplaner (regulärer Eintritt, begrenzte Teilnehmerzahl, das erste Ausstellungsgeschoss bleibt bis 18 h durchgehend geöffnet)

Montag, 17. August 2015, 18 Uhr
Warum sich Menschen stechen lassen: Tätowierung als zeichnerisches Mittel der Selbstvergewisserung? Monika Bartholomé im Gespräch mit Tobias Lobstädt, Pädagoge und Autor (regulärer Eintritt, begrenzte Teilnehmerzahl, Einlass 17.30 Uhr)

Samstag, 22. August 2015, 15 Uhr
„Ich denke mich selber“ – Das KUNSTHAUS KAT 18
Rundgang mit Monika Bartholomé, Jutta Pöstges, Künstlerische Leiterin und Künstlerinnen und Künstlern der Ateliergemeinschaft. Treffpunkt: KUNSTHAUS KAT 18, Kartäuserwall 18, 50678 Köln (begrenzte Teilnehmerzahl: Anmeldung bitte unter 0221-933193-32)